Category: Fanboy Book Club

FBCYA Blog Tour: Timekeeper by Tara Sim | Review

Posted November 9, 2016 by MC / 7 Comments

Categories: Blog Tours, Book Reviews, Fanboy Book Club

timekeeper-tour-banner

FBCYA Blog Tour: Timekeeper by Tara Sim | ReviewTimekeeper by Tara Sim
on November 8th 2016
Goodreads

Two o’clock was missing.
In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.
It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors.
And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve.
But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever.
The stunning first novel in a new trilogy by debut author Tara Sim, Timekeeper is perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Victoria Schwab.
Sky Pony Press, with our Good Books, Racehorse and Arcade imprints, is proud to publish a broad range of books for young readers—picture books for small children, chapter books, books for middle grade readers, and novels for young adults. Our list includes bestsellers for children who love to play Minecraft; stories told with LEGO bricks; books that teach lessons about tolerance, patience, and the environment, and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.

I received this book for free from ALA Annual Conference in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Review:

Oh my goodness this book! If there was ever a reason to break out the heart eyes emoji, now is the time! Ok, ok, I’ll stop. Let’s get serious and talk about this book…

Timekeeper has been one of my most anticipated reads of 2016 for months and I was so lucky to meet Tara at ALA in June (I got the second copy of Timekeeper that she ever signed!). When I heard that the Fanboy Book Club was granted the privilege of hosting this blog tour, I was ecstatic! Tara is such a lovely person and I COULD NOT WAIT to read and review Timekeeper for you.

Timekeeper had me hooked right from the beginning. I instantly liked all of the characters and was really intrigued by this alternate Victorian London that Tara created. The world in this book is so cool. I would love to be able to visit the clock towers and watch the autos roll down the street. I could picture every scene so perfectly and I can’t wait to learn even more about this world in future books.

One of my favorite things about Timekeeper was the way LGBTQ issues were presented in this book. Tara created a world in which people were pretty much indifferent to homosexuality. They were way more concerned with other issues (like time) and barely showed any interest in the fact that Danny liked boys. Wouldn’t that be an awesome world to live in??? I just adored how gender issues were brought to light in this book, but weren’t the main focus of it. They were there, but they weren’t the main issue. I loved that this message was sent, and I really hope to see more books with similar themes.

Personally, I didn’t find Danny and Colton’s relationship as adorable and gush-worthy as most people. I think that was mostly due to my aversion to romance in general, though. They were an adorable couple, but I felt like they fell in love (or became infatuated with each other) a little quickly. Despite what I saw as insta-love, I still really loved both characters and want to see them live happily ever after.

All in all, I was so pleasantly surprised with Timekeeper. I can see huge potential in Tara Sim as a writer in general and in this series as a whole. I can’t wait to read the next book. I can just feel Tara growing as a writer and it makes me so excited. Big things are in store for Tara Sim, and I highly recommend you pick up Timekeeper and give it a shot. You won’t be sorry.

4 Stars

Excited about Timekeeper? Check out this giveaway!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

_________________________________________________________

When you get to host a blog tour…..

…..blame it on the books.

Fanboy Book Club September Read! | Been Here All Along by Sandy Hall

Posted September 8, 2016 by MC in Fanboy Book Club / 0 Comments
Fanboy Book Club September Read! | Been Here All Along by Sandy Hall

Hi everyone! I’m here with a reminder and some exciting news!!! In case you missed the announcement in our last chat, the September read for the Fanboy Book Club is Been Here All Along by Sandy Hall!! I’m so excited that we will be reading this book in September! I am a big fan of Sandy Hall, and I was actually lucky enough to read Been Here All Along as […]

Fanboy Book Club August Read!

Posted August 12, 2016 by MC in Fanboy Book Club / 2 Comments
Fanboy Book Club August Read!

Hello everyone! I am embarrassingly late with this post, but I am here to inform/remind you of the Fanboy Book Club pick for August! We will be reading….. Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman!     To get us all talking this month, I’d like to challenge you to talk about your favorite historical fiction books! OR, discuss something that you would like to see written…maybe there is a time […]

More Happy Than Not Tag | Fanboy Book Club

Posted March 15, 2016 by MC in Fanboy Book Club, Tags / 3 Comments
More Happy Than Not Tag | Fanboy Book Club

This month I am hosting a readalong of More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera for the Fanboy Book Club. I thought since we are reading this book, we should all do the More Happy Than Not tag! I don’t know who started this tag, and I have seen many versions of it, but the general gist is to list the things that make you more happy than not. I […]

Fanboy Book Club March Book Announcement!

Posted March 1, 2016 by MC in Fanboy Book Club / 7 Comments
Fanboy Book Club March Book Announcement!

Hey howdy hey! And welcome to More Happy Than Not month!!! I’m super excited to be hosting this month for the Fanboy Book Club, which I am helping to moderate with Bianca, Nicka, Maan, and Trisha! This month we are reading More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera. I have been wanting to read this book FOREVER, and I couldn’t be more excited to read it and discuss it with all […]

Fanboy Book Club Kickoff!

Posted February 3, 2016 by MC in Fanboy Book Club / 2 Comments
Fanboy Book Club Kickoff!

Hi everyone!!! Today, I’m really excited to help kickoff the first month of the Fanboy Book Club, created by Bianca at The Ultimate Fangirl! I’m really excited because I will be helping Bianca out as one of the hosts of this book club! Yay!!! In the month of February, we will be reading Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling. What a perfect way to start off a […]